Befriend

I’m reading this book by Scott Sauls right now and I’d like to share an excerpt that really hit me this week:

“Instead of looking for new ways to protest against the practices of our culture, what if we invested those same energies in creatively loving our neighbors as ourselves, and doing unto our neighbor–all our neighbors–as we would have them do unto us? I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to roll up my sleeves. Madeleine L’Engle says that we ‘draw people to Christ… by showing them a light that is so lovely that they want with all their hearts to know the source of it.’  The telling of the light will backfire wherever there is no showing of the light.”

A few weeks ago I visited Center City Church just to check it out. They meet at the Movement Center on Freedom Drive. I walked in and immediately felt this sense of community, of family, of acceptance. What I have been praying for. God confirmed in my heart that the vision He has given me is quite the same as the vision of this church. To love people. To unite people. To feed people. To serve others. To shine the light of Jesus to all.  I am excited to be a part of this group of Jesus lovers and to help build the Kingdom with them.

How am I showing His light and not just talking about it. How am I creatively loving those around me? Those that are different than me. Those that are hurting. God has each of us where we are for a reason. To share the love and life He so freely gave with those we come in contact with each day. To grab hold of the moments, the opportunities to shine. I want to encourage you to remember who you are and who you belong to. And that we are all God’s children asking to be loved. So. Go. Be. Love.

Leave a Reply

