7 days in Haiti

Haiti. What a beautiful place with the bravest people. I spent a week there with 6 of my beloved coworkers. In just a week, those 6 became family to me. We hammocked every morning and evening together. We cried together, we laughed together, ate together and sweat together. We had a purpose. We were there to love, to bless, to encourage and to help meet some of the needs that were visible everywhere you looked. And most of all, to pray. Big, bold, audacious prayers. Prayers for provision, for healing, for hope, for restoration. We serve a big God who is able to do the impossible and we were all reminded of this truth during our time in Haiti. With the funds we raised we were able to purchase several trees, water filters, a latrine and yes even a pair of goats to distribute to families. In this way, I was so thankful to be able to meet needs in a tangible way, right there in the moment. We weren’t able to fix everything, but we were compelled to do something. We were just a group of 7, but God was there with us. In the exchange. Doing something usually will be inconvenient, uncomfortable, even risky. But it is part of our DNA as kingdom builders. We need to be willing to give our blood, sweat and tears to see what God will do through us. It goes beyond giving money. There is something so powerful about being present and giving of your time and energy. God can do so much more than we can imagine, but we have to be willing.  The real honor for me was getting to pray over each family. Laying hands on people and circling around, all of us believing God was listening,  the Holy Spirit was there and is alive and moving in that country. You can just feel it.

There is something so special that we experienced there, real and true community. The kind of community I believe God wants for all of us. The way the Haitians live together and take care of each other without expecting anything in return was so impactful for me. In the midst of overwhelming poverty and hurt, I saw families rally around each other. I saw the heart of our translator, Wildes broken for his people. People he didn’t even know, he wanted to help and give the little he had away, in hopes that it would make a difference. Every person we met had such a huge heart for their people, such compassion. It was moving and inspiring. I want to live like that. I want to be present and available. I want to jump at the opportunity to help those in need. I don’t want to forget the faces, the smiles, the stories. Everyone has a story. Everyone longs to be listened to, to be loved. That’s why we are here. I’m so thankful for the reminder.

Thank you to all of you who supported me and my team. Financially and prayerfully. We felt it. I’m so grateful for the opportunity to be the hands and feet of Jesus in Haiti. I’m so thankful to work for a company that values mission work and gives us the opportunity to pour into communities here and around the world.  Haiti is such an unforgettable place and I came back with a heart overflowing. The joy and peace I felt there was priceless. I have never cried so much or laughed so much. The love I feel for the people I met and my Movement team is indescribable. I’m believing and will continue praying for miracles in Haiti. And I can’t wait to see them come to pass.

 

Leave a Reply

